Unit Two – Editing

Assignment Criteria
Take two photos and edit them. Post the original and the edited.
  1. entrapped

Jellyfish UNedited.jpg

  Jellyfish Edited

                       before                                                                   after

Above is an image of an artwork piece I purchased of a jellyfish made entirely out of metal, hanging in a medicine jar. The jellyfish’s strings are made out of guitar strings, and the artist told me that the head of the jellyfish was made by accident by melting metal.

The process I used for editing the before and after photo includes the following edits:

  • cropping
  • image adjustment alignment
  • burn tool
  • spot heal tool to get rid of light reflection on glass
  • brightness and contract
  • lighting curves
  • color vibrance

 

2. hear me roar

Theo Yawning UNedited   before

Theo Yawning Edited    after

Above is an image of my Maine Coon cat, Theodore, sitting in our living room on a velvet red chair.

I was already pretty happy with the composition of the photograph, so I did not make many edits to it. However, I made some and the process I used for editing the before and after photo includes the following edits:

  • burn tool
  • brightness and contrast
  • lighting and saturation

 

Leave a Reply

